Read Suspense Book Series

Elizabeth Macpherson – read online free book series
Popular Series / 31.10.2017

Author:Sharyn McCrumb First Book Publish:1988 Books in series: 8 Avg. Book Rating:7.4 Characters: Lovely in Her Bones (Elizabeth Macpherson Book 1) First published: May 12th 1990Rating: 7.56 stars GoodReads:Lovely in Her Bones Review: When an Appalachian dig to determine if an obscure Indian tribe in North Carolina can lay legal claim to the land they live on is stopped on account of murder, Elizabeth MacPherson — eager student of the rites of the past and mysteries of the present — starts digging deep. And when she mixes a little modern know-how with some old-fashioned suspicions, Elizabeth comes up with a batch of answers that surprise even the experts…. (from Barnes & Noble website)The sequel to Sick of Shadows, so I was predisposed to like it. Amusing, cozy, some fascinating information on the archaeological process of an active dig, a little romance. Altogether an enjoyable marshmallow of a story. Highland Laddie Gone (Elizabeth Macpherson Book 2) First published: April 12th 1991Rating: 7.36 stars GoodReads:Highland Laddie Gone Review: OK, I think I’m done with Elizabeth. I remember loving this series many years ago, but I am not feeling any depth of character in the rereading.The good: The Highland Games setting. She describes…

Inspector Ian Rutledge – read online free book series
Popular Series / 31.10.2017

Author:Charles Todd, First Book Publish:1998 Books in series: 19 Avg. Book Rating:8 Characters: , Ian Rutledge, Lettice Wood, Mark Wilton, Catherine Tarrant, Bert Mavers, Daniel Hickam, Laurence Royston, Helena Sommers, Sally Davenant A Long Shadow (Inspector Ian Rutledge Book 1) First published: January 2nd 2006Rating: 8.16 stars GoodReads:A Long Shadow Review: If a movie is going to be made from these books – this should be the one!! This book is a great mystery and keeps one guessing until the very last chapter.A mystery solved without CSI!! The book plods along – and whenever I think it could have gone quicker I realize that the book takes place in 1919 and there is no CSI. They couldn’t even take a fingerprint. Surprised that it could be determined whether something was poisoned!!The one annoying thing – is that it is very obvious that the book was not written by an Englishman – because the word honor is Americanized. Other then that – you can hear the accent and see the English countryside.This is my favorite Ian Rutledge book. By this book he has become a well established detective.Things I love:-tUsing people’s body language to obtain information-tShort chapters-tSmall town characters-tIan Rutledge’s use…

Daughters Of England – read online free book series
Popular Series / 31.10.2017

Author:Philippa Carr, First Book Publish:1975 Books in series: 18 Avg. Book Rating:7.7 Characters: , Claudine de Tourville, Jonathan Frenshaw, David Frenshaw, Linnet Pennlyon, Colum Casvellyn, Tamsyn Casvellyn The Changeling (Daughters Of England Book 1) First published: May 2nd 1989Rating: 7.8 stars GoodReads:The Changeling Review: Fifteenth in the Daughters of England historical fiction series in the gothic romance vein. The focus in this one is on a Victorian-era daughter, Rebecca Mandeville and her family.My TakeA typical gothic romance with cozy overtones that thwart Carr’s attempts to create tension and drama. I’m not sure if my frustration with this is due to how long ago this story was first released and the silly tropes used in this were typical of the writing styles when this was written or if this was an aberration. I know I liked Victoria Holt, one of Carr’s pseudonym’s, when I was a kid. That said, the protagonist, Rebecca, annoyed the hell out of me. She’s such a snot. Granted, she has reason for her unhappiness, but even as she grows, she doesn’t acknowledge how unfair she’s been, although she’s quite keen to disparage others for doing exactly what she’s doing. She is so incredibly clueless… And I…